Bellator traveled to the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Hollywood, Fla., for a stacked night of fights featuring a bout for the Bellator lightweight championship between champion Eddie Alvarez and Michael Chandler. Also, in a catchweight non-title fight, middleweight title-holder Hector Lombard took on Trevor Prangley. The event was televised live on MTV2.

 Chandler wins Bellator gold, submits Alvarez in round four

In a spectacular fight of the year nominee contest, Michael Chandler walked out of the Bellator ring as the new lightweight champion by defeating Eddie Alvarez via fourth-round submission.

If you were expecting an absolute war between these two men, you were correct! Alvarez and Chandler went toe-to-toe from start to finish. At one point early in the round, the referee almost stopped the fight after Chandler rocked Alvarez, but the two kept going until the bell sounded. One of, if not, the best rounds of MMA action this year.

These two warriors did not look to slow down in the second. The fight remained standing the majority of the time and was a very closely contested round just like the first. In a toss-up, the round was given to the champion, Alvarez.

In round three, Alvarez showed his dominance by landing a body shot to Chandler and continued to fire shots at Chandler. If you have ever questioned the heart of Chandler, your opinion quickly changed as he was able to survive the round, but the damage was done .

Going into the championship rounds, the two bloodied men were tired, but still maintained their composure and kept attacking constantly. But round four belonged to Chandler. After getting hit multiple times in the third, the challenger came back strong in the fourth, landed solid strikes and dropping Alvarez. From there, Chandler transitioned to side control, mounted his opponent and took his back to lock up a rear-naked choke to force Alvarez to tap.

In what should be considered one of the best fights of the year, Chandler now has the belt around his waist after submitting the very talented Alvarez in round four.

Lombard earns 24th-straight, knocks out Prangley

In a 195-pound catchweight bout, Bellator middleweight champ Hector Lombard earned his 24th consecutive win by defeating Trevor Prangley via second-round TKO.

Lombard looked to close the distance early to avoid the reach advantage Prangley had on him. The champion was able to land solid strikes, but Prangley stayed collected and fought a conservative round one.

But in round two, the power of Lombard took over. Lombard threw a bomb at Prangley, wobbling him, and finished with shots on the ground.

The end came at 1:06 of the second round. Lombard will defend his Bellator middleweight belt in his next fight against Alexander Shlemenko.

Aguilar avenges 2006 loss, earns decision over Ellis

In a rematch of their 2006 fight, Jessica Aguilar avenged her loss to Lisa Ellis-Ward by out-striking her opponent en route to a unanimous decision.

From the start of round one, both women looked as if they wanted the fight to remain on the feet and did so throughout the entire stanza. It came down to whoever controlled the stand-up game, which appeared to be Aguilar, who attempted more strikes.

Ellis-Ward moved forward more in round two, but an unfortunate slip cost her as Aguilar took advantage of it and swarmed on her opponent. Aguilar went for an anaconda choke, but ended up deciding to take top position. Ellis was able to stand, but too much damage was done for her to win the round.

Coming into the final round, it was Aguilar’s fight to lose and she did a good job of being smart, listening to her corner and surviving to the end, even after a late onslaught by Ellis.

The judges awarded all three rounds to Aguilar, giving her a unanimous decision win.

 Sandro bounces back; Submits Dias

After a knockout loss to Pat Curran in the finals of the Bellator featherweight tournament, Marlon Sandro bounced back impressively against Rafael Dias on Saturday with a first-round submission victory.

Both men came out reckless from the start, but it was Sandro who got the upper hand and gained top position. Dias tried to stand, but Sandro compromised and locked up a standing arm-traingle against the cage, forcing the stoppage at 3:56 of the first round.

Main Card Results

Michael Chandler def. Eddie Alvarez by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 4, 3:06 (Becomes new Bellator lightweight champion)

Hector Lombard def. Trevor Prangley by TKO (punches). Round 2, 1:06

Jessica Aguilar def. Lisa Ellis-Ward by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Marlon Sandro def. Rafael Dias by submission (standing arm-triangle). Round 1, 3:56

Undercard Results

Brett Cooper def. Jared Hess by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Valdir Araujo def. Ailton Barbosa by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Cosmo Alexandre def. Avery McPhatter by knockout (knees). Round 1, 0:20

Herbert Goodman def. Jonas Billstein disqualification (illegal soccer kick). Round 2, 3:21

Fabio Mello def. Farkhad Sharipov by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Photo: Eddie Alvarez (L) squares off with Michael Chandler (Bellator)