The Ultimate Fighter has made champions, turned ordinary fighters into household names and helped put the UFC and the sport of mixed martial arts in front of the mainstream public in North America. Now after 15 seasons the reality has gone global with the debut of The Ultimate Fighter: Brazil.

There were thousands of applicants and 500 people showed up for the open tryouts but in the end only 32 fighters were given the opportunity to fight their way into the house and earn an international contract with the UFC.  The show features middleweights and featherweights, with 16 fighters from each weight class putting everything on the line to win this coveted contract.

The season opened with a featherweight bout between Rony “Jason” Mariano Bezerra and Dileno Lopes.  This fight was just a precursor of things to come.  Both fighters came out ready for war exchanging strikes in the center of the ring.  Right off the bat these two warriors showed the world that Brazilian fighters are talented and the rest of the world better take notice.  Bezerra would ultimately win this fight by TKO in the first round.

From top to bottom The Ultimate Fighter: Brazil offered fans a night of exciting fights.  There were knockouts, submissions, flying knees, flying triangle attempts and pretty much everything else that you would want to see from fighters fighting for the biggest opportunities of their lives.  At the end of the evening though only 16 fighters would make it to the house, and each one of the promises to offer exciting fights on their way to winning the show.


Rony Mariano Bezerra def. Dileno Lopes by TKO (strikes). Round 1
Godofredo “Pepey” de Oliveira def. Johnny Goncalves by submission (armbar). Round 1
Hugo Viana def. Alexandre Ramos by KO (elbows). Round 1
Rodrigo Damm def. Fabricio de Assis Costa da Silva by submission (rear-naked choke).  Round 2
Wagner Campos def. Fernando Duarte Guerra by decision
Anistavio Medeiros def. Rafael Bueno by decision
John Teixeira def. Giovanni Souza Jr. by submission (armbar). Round 1
Marcos Vinicius Borges Pancini def. Pedro Nobre by KO (punches). Round 1
Francisco Drinaldo def. Charles Maicon by KO (punches). Round 1
Cezar Ferreira def. Gustavo Sampaio by submission (guillotine choke). Round 2
Daniel Sarafian def. Richardson Moreira by decision
Sergio Moraes def. Thiago Rela by submission (heel hook). Round 1
Thiago de Oliveira Perpetuo def. Joao Paulo de Souza by decision
Delson Heleno def. Gilberto Galvao by decision
Renee Forte def. Fabio Luiz Vital da Costa by decision
Leonardo Mafra Teixeira def. Samuel Trindade by decision
Photo: Rodrigo Damm (Sherdog)

About The Author

Josh Davis
President and Site Director

Josh Davis is the owner and President of The MMA Corner, LLC. He has been a fan of mixed martial arts since seeing UFC 1 in his hometown. In addition to his The MMA Corner responsibilities, Josh is the editor of Scrapp! Fight Magazine. Josh has also written for MMA Unleashed and MMA Sports magazines. Josh also manages some of Colorado's best up and coming fighters and is dedicated to the positive promotion of the sport.