After venturing to the Paramount Theater in downtown Denver for its last event, Colorado’s Fight to Win returned to its usual stomping grounds of the National Western Complex for Hooligans on Friday, April 19.

In the night’s main event, Ultimate Fighter: Live participant and former Fight to Win lightweight champion Chase Hackett faced off with Grudge Training Center product Steele McCall. Hackett relinquished his belt in his last outing, suffering a first-round knockout to Tony Sims. The Factory X Muay Thai fighter looked to get back on track against McCall. McCall eyed his second straight win since making the move to Colorado and training at Grudge.

The night’s co-main event featured light heavyweights Jeff Newbrough and Joe Ochoa.

In all, 12 bouts filled the card. The main and co-main events were professional contests, while the remaining 10 bouts were amateur. Both the amateur and welterweight titles were on the line as Matt Johnson took on Diego Alvarez for the 155-pound strap, while Alonso Garcia and Malcomb Vrecenar battled for the 170-pound belt.

McCall chokes Hackett

Lightweight Steele McCall picked up his second straight win in Colorado with a second-round submission of former Fight to Win champion Chase Hackett.

Hackett opened the fight very aggressive, clipping McCall with a right hand and sending him to the canvas. He followed with heavy punches and elbows from the top, but McCall tied him up to recover. Hackett then went to work on the ground, gaining mount and then McCall’s back. Hackett worked hard for the rear-naked choke for the remainder of the opening stanza, but McCall managed to survive.

The second round opened with Hackett scoring a takedown. However, McCall used a kimura to gain the top position. He moved to mount, but Hackett escaped to half guard. McCall transitioned to a D’arce choke and Hackett had no choice but to tap.

Newbrough knocks out Ochoa

Light heavyweight Jeff Newbrough moved his record to 2-1 with a first-round finish of Arizona’s Joe Ochoa.

The High Altitude MMA product Newbrough traded heavy shots with Ochoa early before connecting with a stiff jab that dropped Ochoa. Ochoa quickly returned to his feet, but Newbrough smelled blood. He unleashed a barrage of knees along the cage that knocked out Ochoa.

Amateur Fights

A new lightweight champion was crowned as Matt Johnson battered Diego Alvarez from the opening bell with strikes before submitting him in the second round via rear-naked choke.

Welterweight Alonso Garcia used a dominant grappling game to outclass Malcomb Vrecenar and capture the promotion’s amateur 170-pound title by unanimous decision.

Zingano BJJ product Long Lo wasted little time against Jon Vigil, locking on a fight-finishing armbar just one minute into the opening frame of their featherweight affair.

After two rounds of trading heavy shots on the feet and submission attempts on the mat, welterweight Peter Straub forced Josh Watson to tap to a third-round triangle choke.

Middleweight Jeremiah Talley used a well-rounded attack to batter Dean Burley for three straight rounds, claiming a lopsided decision win in the process.

A closely contested 140-pound catchweight between Cory Sandhagen and Brandon Herredia was decided on the scorecards and it was Herredia that was rewarded for his efforts by split decision.

Strawweight Melissa Myers mixed up her striking and her takedowns en route to a unanimous decision win over Audrey Perkins.

Light heavyweight Chris Morgan overwhelmed an overmatched Jose Zayas to score a first-round submission victory just one minute into their fight.

Featherweights Tyler Spurlin and Chance Chin took it to each other for three full rounds, with Spurlin doing just enough to take the fight on the scorecards.

In a 130-pound affair, Derek Mainus showcased strong striking and solid takedown defense to best Keegan Byers by third-round TKO due to cuts.

Steele McCall def. Chase Hackett by submission (D’arce choke). Round 2, 2:18
Jeff Newbrough def. Joe Ochoa by knockout (knees). Round 1, 1:39
Matt Johnson def. Diego Alvarez by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 2:11 – for amateur lightweight title
Alonso Garcia def. Malcomb Vrecenar by unanimous decision (30-27 x3) – for amateur welterweight title
Long Lo def. Jon Vigil by submission (armbar). Round 1, 1:04 (a)
Peter Straub def. Josh Watson by submission (triangle choke). Round 3, 1:14 (a)
Jeremiah Talley def. Dean Burley by unanimous decision (30-27 x3) (a)
Brandon Herredia def. Cory Sandhagen by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28) (a)
Melissa Myers def. Audrey Perkins by unanimous decision (29-28 x3) (a)
Chris Morgan def. Jose Zayas by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 1:07 (a)
Tyler Spurlin def. Chance Chin by unanimous decision (29-28 x3) (a)
Derek Mainus def. Keegan Byers by TKO (doctor’s stoppage). Round 3, 1:10 (a)

Photo: Steele McCall (bottom) works for kimura against Chase Hackett (Phil Lambert/The MMA Corner)