On Saturday, Oct. 12, Championship Fighting Alliance hosted its 12th event from the BankUnited Center in Coral Gables, Fla. The event aired live on AXS TV.

In the night’s main event, CFA flyweight champion Josh Sampo put his belt on the line against promotional newcomer Sam Thao. Sampo captured the title with a fifth-round submission win over Bellator veteran Alexis Vila in January and entered the cage on a three-fight winning streak. Meanwhile, Thao stepped into the cage having won seven of his eight professional contests.

Also on the main card, Ultimate Fighter winner Efrain Escudero made his promotional debut against Bellator veteran Luis Palomino, Valdir Araujo battled Romario Manoel da Silva for the promotion’s vacanct welterweight title, Ashlee Evans-Smith took on transgender athlete Fallon Fox in the finals of the CFA featherweight tournament, and Yoisdenis Cedeno and Torrance Taylor went to war with the vacant lightweight strap up for grabs.

The night’s main card aired live on AXS TV beginning at 9 p.m. ET. The five-fight preliminary card was un-aired.

Joshua Sampo def. Sam Thao by unanimous decision (49-46 x3) – for flyweight title
Efrain Escudero def. Luis Palomino by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Ashlee Evans-Smith def. Fallon Fox by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 3:15 – women’s featherweight tournament final
Valdir Araujo def. Romario Manoel da Silva by submission (guillotine choke). Round 2, 4:09 – for vacant welterweight title
Yosdenis Cedeno def. Torrence Taylor by split decision (48-47, 47-48, 48-47) – for vacant lightweight title
Sabah Homasi def. Mike Trujillo by knockout (strikes). Round 1, 4:25
Colby Covington def. Jose Caceres by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Leo Valdivia def. Felix Penalvers by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Bentley Syler def. Wascar Cruz by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Diego Peclat def. Rico Farrington by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Hayder Hassan def. Jason Jackson by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 2:52

Photo: Joshua Sampo (Andy Hemingway/Sherdog)