On Friday, Oct. 25, Resurrection Fighting Alliance held its 10th event from Hy Vee Hall in Des Moines, Iowa.

In the night’s main event, the promotion crowned its inaugural welterweight champion as Mike “Biggie” Rhodes clashed with Alan Jouban. Rhodes entered the cage riding the momentum of a vicious, first-round TKO over Benjamin Smith in June at RFA 8. The Roufusport product has tasted defeat only once, a submission loss to UFC fighter Brandon Thatch. Across the cage from Rhodes was Californian Alan Jouban, who, like Rhodes, was riding a wave of success into the contest. Jouban finished UFC and Strikeforce veteran Chris Spang by TKO at RFA 9 in August and had not tasted defeat since 2011.

Also on the night’s six-fight, AXS TV-broadcast main card, Ultimate Fighter alum Justin Lawrence looked to work his way back to the UFC as he took on fellow featherweight and Iowa native Luis Saldana, who was also making his promotional debut. The rest of the main card featured a pair of lightweight contests as Emanuel Brooks battled Johnny Case and Michael McBride faced off with Emmanuel Sanchez, bantmaweights Jeff Bates and Cory Galloway locked horns, and middleweights Miles Marshall and Jordan Sanford kicked off the televised action.

In all, 14 bouts made up the card. The AXS TV main card aired live at 10 p.m. ET, while the eight preliminary card fights went un-aired.

Mike Rhodes def. Alan Jouban by unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 50-45) – inaugural welterweight title
Justin Lawrence def. Luis Saldana by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Johnny Case def. Emanuel “E.J.” Brooks by split decision (30-27, 27-30, 29-28)
Emmanuel Sanchez def. Michael McBride by unanimous decision
Cory Galloway def. Jeff Bates by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 2:27
Miles Marshall def. Jordan Sanford by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 3:01
Darrick Minner def. William Osborne by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Brent Stepanek def. Josh Christensen by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Justin Fuson def. Justen Shannon by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27) (a)
Ben Halder def. Ryan Valline by submission (guillotine choke). Round 3, 0:45 (a)
Spencer Drish def. Brad Davis by submission (armbar). Round 2, 2:10 (a)
Nick Dewitt def. Levi Thompson by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28) (a)
Johnny Wentland def. Justin Bonnett by TKO (head kick and punches). Round 1, 1:54 (a)
Jared Hefler def. James Keiper by submission (armbar). Round 1, 2:40 (a)

(a) – designates amateur contest

Photo: Mike Rhodes (Paul Fladten/Sherdog)