On Saturday, April 12, Cage Warriors Fighting Championship hosted Cage Warriors 67: Johns vs. Brum from the LC in Swansea, Wales.

In the night’s main event, the promotion’s bantamweight title was on the line, but only for one combatant. Former champion Brett Johns came in two pounds heavy on Friday and was stripped of his belt. However, his challenger, James Brum, made weight was still able to claim the title with a victory.

Johns carried an unblemished 9-0 record into the contest. The judo black belt claimed the 135-pound strap by winning a four-man, one-night tournament at CWFC 59 in September. The 22-year-old stepped into the cage having already picked up four wins inside the Cage Warriors cage. Brum, meanwhile, rode an eight-fight winning streak of his own into the title contest. His last seven wins had come under the CWFC banner and his only loss in the last three years came at the hands of current UFC fighter Erik Perez.

The co-main event featured a pair of British lightweights as submission specialists Sean Carter and Mario Saeed locked horns. Carter had picked up four wins competing for the promotion, while Saeed was making his promotional debut.

In all, the event featured seven professional and four amateur fights. The lone professional preliminary card bout was not broadcast, but the six-fight main card streamed live on MMA Junkie starting at 4 p.m. ET.

Brett Johns def. James Brum by unanimous decision (50-45, 49-46, 49-46)
Sean Carter def. Mario Saeed by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Shaj Haque def. Martin McDonough by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Jamie Pritchard def. Phil Raeburn by submission (guillotine choke). Round 2, 3:32
Agnieszka Niedzwiedz def. Gemma Hewitt by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 3:59
Simas Norkus def. Stuart Tyrie by TKO (doctor stoppage). Round 2, 2:35
Paul Rogers def. Mark Handley by verbal submission (armbar). Round 1, 2:19
Dane Morgan def. Rhys Lewis by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 1:00 (a)
James Whittet def. Will Davies by knockout (upkick). Round 1, 1:03 (a)
Rory Evans def. Sami Hashim by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 1:06 (a)
Nathan Morgan def. Dave Nash by majority decision (28-28, 29-28, 29-28) (a)

(a) – denotes amateur contest

About The Author

Matt Faler
Staff Writer

Matt Faler has been a combat sports fan since a young age, starting with boxing then falling in love with mixed martial arts after seeing Pride FC - Critical Countdown 2004. He started an MMA blog in 2010 and has since written for several websites including MMARecap.com and InTheNeutralZone.com.