On Thursday, May 1, EFC Africa hosted its 29th event from Carnival City Casino in Johannesburg, South Africa.

In the night’s main event, the promotion’s welterweight title was on the line between Dino Bagattin and Henry Fadipe. The contest did not last long as Fadipe stopped Bagattin in the first round with a vicious knockout.

The co-main event of the evening saw featherweight Barend Nienaber outwork Brendon Katz en route to a unanimous decision win. Nienaber earned a shot at the promotion’s vacant 145-pound title later this year.

A battle of former champions proved to be one of the most exciting contests of the night as Michiel Opperman edged Jeremy Smith by split decision.

It was a night of finishes as eight of the event’s 11 contests ended before the scorecards were needed.

Below are the full results of the action.

Henry Fadipe def. Dino Bagattin by knockout. Round 1, 3:09 – for EFC welterweight title
Barend Nienaber def. Brendon Katz by unanimous decision
Michiel Opperman def. Jeremy Smith by split decision
Wade Groth def. Alexander Cheboub by TKO. Round 2, 4:06
Gareth Buirski def. Peter Nyide by TKO 4:36 into round 1.
Francois Groenewald def. Leo Gloss by TKO. Round 1, 3:32
Morne Prinsloo def. Mark Hulme by disqualification (illegal strikes). Round 1, 1:49
Ricky Misholas def. Dewald Botes by TKO. Round 2, 4:28
Gordon Roodman def. Pupanga Tresor by submission (armbar). Round 2, 2:29
Saxon Delafield def. Pietie Coxen by submission (armbar). Round 1, 0:31
Tyson Chelin def. Mbulelo Swekile by unanimous decision