On Friday, May 16, Titan FC held its 28th event from the First Council Casino Hotel in Newkirk, Okla. It marked the second event since the promotion was purchased by former Alchemist Management founder Jeff Aronson.

Titan FC 28 showcased a light heavyweight main event between UFC veteran Jason Brilz and Bellator alum Raphael Davis. Both fighters stepped into the Titan cage riding winning streaks. The Nebraskan Brilz rebounded from his UFC release by picking up three straight victories on the regional circuit, including a decision win over The Ultimate Fighter alum Josh Bryant. Davis had largely flown under the radar throughout his career, despite finishing UFC vet Vinny Magalhaes and current Bellator champion Emanuel Newton. Twelve of his 13 wins had come inside the distance and during a three-fight winning streak, he had stopped all three opponents via strikes.

In addition to the night’s headlining contest, the card featured numerous big-show veterans trying to work their way back to the sport’s highest level. Among the notable names: Dave Herman, Kalib Starnes, Walt Harris, Brock Jardine, Daniels Robert, Brian Foster, Gilbert Smith, Walel Watson, Alvin Robinson and Pedro Nobre.

The 11-fight event kicked off Friday with two unaired preliminary card bouts. Three additional preliminary card bouts followed on CBSSports.com at 8:30 p.m. ET, with the six-fight main card airing live on the CBS Sports Network at 10 p.m. ET.

Jason Brilz def. Raphael Davis by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Dave Herman def. Kalib Starnes by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Walt Harris def. D.J. Linderman by knockout (punches). Round 1, 4:12
Daniel Roberts def. Brock Jardine by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-27)
Brian Foster def. Gilbert Smith by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Gleristone “Toninho Furia” Santos def. Alvin Robinson by TKO (punches). Round 2, 4:51
Walel Watson def. William Joplin by technical submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 2:29
Pedro Nobre def. Dan O’Connor by unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
David Nelson vs. Gaston Reyno declared a no-decision (illegal knee). Round 1, 2:02
John Bryant def. Matt Foster by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 3:13
Wayman Carter def. Wayne Cole by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 4:19

About The Author

The MMA Corner Staff

Your home for all things MMA. News, Interviews, Event Coverage, Editorials. If it is MMA related, you will find it on The MMA Corner.