On Saturday, May 17, Bellator MMA hosted its 120th event and first on pay-per-view from the Landers Center in Southaven, Miss.

In the night’s main event, the promotion crowned its season 10 light heavyweight tournament champion when former UFC champion Quinton “Rampage” Jackson clashed with former Strikeforce title holder Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal.

The night’s co-main event featured an interim lightweight title bout between former champion Michael Chandler and season nine tournament winner Will Brooks. Chandler was originally expected to headline the event against lightweight title holder Eddie Alvarez, but Alvarez was forced off the card with a concussion.

The promotion’s middleweight champion, Alexander Shlemenko, was also be in action as he moves up to light heavyweight to take on former UFC light heavyweight title holder Tito Ortiz.

Also on the main card, striking stalwarts Michael Page and Ricky Rainey locked horns at welterweight, while the season 10 heavyweight tournament culminated as Blagoi Ivanov squared off with former champion Alexander Volkov.

The 14-fight event kicked off with preliminary card bouts streaming live on Spike.com at 6:45 p.m. ET. Four additional preliminary bouts followed on Spike TV at 8 p.m. ET, with the five-fight main card airing live on pay-per-view at 10 p.m. ET.

Main Card

Controversy surrounded the main event as Quinton “Rampage” Jackson earned a questionable decision over Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal and claimed the season 10 light heavyweight tournament. Lawal dominated the first round with his wrestling, planting Jackson on his back just seconds into the fight. Jackson swung the momentum in round two with his boxing, opening a cut under the left eye of Lawal. In the final frame, Lawal again controlled the action with his wrestling, pushing the fight against the cage and taking Jackson to the mat. However, the judges at cageside gave the decision win to Jackson.

The night’s co-main event was a five-round war between season nine lightweight tournament winner Will Brooks and former champion Michael Chandler. Chandler dominated the first two rounds with his takedowns and top control. Brooks turned the tides in the third round, taking Chandler’s back and threatening with submission attempts. Brooks moved the mount and rained heavy punches, nearly finishing the bout. Chandler survived the third, but once again found himself in precarious positions in the fourth round, as Brooks spent a large portion on the frame on Chandler’s back. The fifth round looked to favor Brooks early, but Chandler showed his heart, rocking Brooks in the final minute and attacking with an arm-triangle choke. Brooks made it to the final bell and two of the three judges at cageside rewarded him the split decision and the promotion’s interim title.

In his promotional debut, former UFC light heavyweight champion Tito Ortiz submitted Bellator middleweight title holder Alexander Shlemenko with an arm-triangle choke. Shlemenko used his speed advantage early, punishing the body of the larger Ortiz. Two minutes into the fight, Ortiz pinned Shlemenko against the fence and dragged the fight to the ground. He quickly passed to side control and locked on the fight-finishing arm-triangle to put the Russian to sleep.

Former Bellator heavyweight champion Alexander Volkov clinched the season 10 tournament by submitting previously undefeated sambo stylist Blagoi Ivanov in the second round. Volkov used his massive height advantage to prevent Ivanov from bringing the fight to the ground in the first round. The lanky Russian scored with knees from close quarters to slow Ivanov’s advance. In round two, Volkov peppered the Bulgarian with jabs before Ivanov initiated a takedown. Volkov used a slick transition to take Ivanov’s back and slap on a rear-naked choke that finished the fight. The win earned Volkov another crack at champion Vitaly Minakov, the man who took the belt from him.

British welterweight Michael Page remained undefeated by putting on a striking clinic against Ricky Rainey. Rainey pushed forward early, but Page scored at will with his hands, despite keeping his hands at his hips. Page showboated throughout the contest, mocking Rainey, but punishing him with strikes. Late in the first round, Page delivered an overhand right that sent Rainey crashing to the canvas.

Preliminary Card

Heavyweight Cheick Kongo got back in the win column after falling short in his quest for Bellator gold, stopping Eric Smith in the second round. Smith scored early with heavy shots, but Kongo poured it on late in round one. In the second stanza, Kongo scored a takedown and delivered a steady stream of strikes, eventually forcing referee John McCarthy to waive off the bout.

Marcin Held earned another submission win inside the Bellator cage, dominating promotional newcomer Nate Jolly. The pair rocked one another early, but Held dragged the fight to the mat. He locked onto Jolly’s back with both hooks and spent most the round there. However, Jolly escaped to the top position in the final minute, but Held grabbed Jolly’s right arm and forced a tap.

Grappling ace Fabricio Guerreiro scored an impressive win, submitting former tournament winner and title challenger Shahbulat Shamhalaev in the first round of their featherweight bout. Guerreiro put Shamhalaev on his back late in the opening round and quickly attacked the Russian’s left arm. Before Shamhalaev could tap, his left arm was broken.

Brazilian featherweight Goiti Yamauchi scored a unanimous decision win in a hard-fought battle with Mike Richman. Both fighters scored on the feet, but Yamauchi landed the cleaner shots to earn the judges’ nod.

Austin Lyons scored a second win over Zach Underwood in the final streaming prelim of the night. Lyons controlled the first two rounds, but landed an illegal knee in the final frame that sent the fight to the scorecards after Underwood could not continue. Lyons’ efforts resulted in the technical decision win.

Heavyweight Mike Wessel used a powerful takedown and heavy ground and pound to finish out Justin Frazier in the final minute of round one.

Ben Brewer survived a tough first round to knockout the more experienced Andy Uhrich in the second frame with beautiful combination along the fence.

Codie Shuffield showcased his ground game by submitting Anthony Lemon in the second stanza via rear-naked choke.

Brian Hall scored a third-round finish in the night’s opening bout, pounding out Cortez Phelia with punches early in the final frame after a violent body shot.

Quinton “Rampage” Jackson def. Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal by unanimous decision (29-28 x3) – light heavyweight tournament final
Will Brooks def. Michael Chandler by split decision (48-46, 47-48, 48-47) – for interim lightweight title
Tito Ortiz def. Alexander Shlemenko by technical submission (arm-triangle choke). Round 1, 2:27
Alexander Volkov def. Blagoi Ivanov by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 1:08 – heavyweight tournament final
Michael Page def. Ricky Rainey by TKO (punch). Round 1, 4:29
Cheick Kongo def. Eric Smith by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 4:35
Marcin Held def. Nate Jolly by submission (armbar). Round 1, 4:20
Fabricio Guerreiro def. Shahbulat Shamhalaev by submission (kimura). Round 1, 3:29
Goiti Yamauchi def. Mike Richman by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Austin Lyons def. Zach Underwood by technical decision due to illegal knee (30-27, 29-28, 30-27)
Mike Wessel def. Justin Frazier by TKO (punches). Round 1, 4:28
Ben Brewer def. Andy Uhrich by knockout (strikes). Round 2, 2:40
Codie Shuffield def. Anthony Lemon by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 2:15
Brian Hall def. Cortez Phelia by TKO (punches). Round 3, 0:24