On Thursday, July 3, EFC Africa hosted its 31st event from the Coca-Cola Dome in Johannesburg, South Africa.

In the night’s main event, the promotion’s bantamweight title was be on the line as champion Nkazimulo Zulu squared off with former EFC featherweight kingpin Demarte Pena. Zulu had finished all five of his career wins, including a first-round TKO over Charlie Weyer in his last title defense. Pena, meanwhile, gave up his 145-pound belt to challenge Zulu for the 135-pound strap. Pena carried an unblemished, 8-0 record and most recently edged Alain Ilunga in October in his final title defense.

When it was all said and done, Pena was simply too much for Zulu. Pena controlled the action for five rounds to keep his perfect record intact and become the first, two-division champion in EFC Africa history.

Also on the card, Matthew Buirski locked horns with fellow bantamweight Cedric Doyle, Wesley Hawkey met Hanru Botha in a 68-kg catchweight, heavyweights Elvis Moyo and Andrew van Zyl went to battle, Danie van Heerden clashed with Tumelo Maphutha at light heavyweight, and Brendon Katz met Nelson Feiteira in a featherweight affair.

EFC Africa 31 aired live via online pay-per-view on the promotion’s website starting at 16:45 CAT. The main card followed at 20:00 CAT.

Demarte Pena def. Nkazimulo Zulu by unanimous decision – for EFC bantamweight title
Tumelo Maphutha def. Danie van Heerden by unanimous decision
Andrew van Zyl def. Elvis Moyo by submission (armbar). Round 1, 3:49
Wesley Hawkey def. Hanru Botha by majority decision
Cedric Doyle def. Matthew Buirski by unanimous decision
Brendon Katz def. Nelson Feiteira by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 4:55
Ian Visser def. Donavin Hawkey by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 2:22
Tyson Chelin def. Leo Gloss by submission (ankle lock). Round 1, 3:29
Warren Allison def. Jason Culverwell by submission (arm-triangle choke). Round 1, 3:46
Lourens Botes def. Baldwin Mdlalose by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 2:03
Craig Ninow def. Marino Cutenda by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 4:00
Tumisang Madiba def. Sizwe Mnikathi by majority decision