On Friday, July 25, Resurrection Fighting Alliance hosted its 16th event from the 1STBANK Center in Broomfield, Colo. The night’s main card aired live on AXS TV.

In the main event of the evening, the promotion crowned a heavyweight champion as Colorado’s Josh Copeland squared off with Utah’s Jan Jorgensen.

Copeland, who fights out of Grudge Training Center, had started his career a perfect 8-0. Six of his eight victories had come inside the first round. “Cuddly Bear” was the Sparta Combat League heavyweight champion and had defended that title on two occasions.

Jorgensen, meanwhile, also carried an unblemished record. The Utah fighter was a defensive end for Brigham Young University and had picked up seven wins since transitioning to MMA. “The Janimal” had stopped six of his seven wins, with four coming by way of strikes.

In the night’s co-main event, former Northwestern wrestler Jarred Mercado faced off with XFC and MFC veteran Daniel Swain in a 140-pound catchweight bout. Mercado was originally expected to face jiu-jitsu ace Joe Murphy in a bantamweight No. 1 contender’s bout, but Murphy was forced out due to injury.

Also on the main card, welterweights Josh Cavan and Chris Heatherly locked horns, bantamweight Zac Chavez met Boston Salmon, Maureen Riordon tangled with Marion Reneau in a women’s bantamweight bout, and Sid Bice took on Eric Shelton in a flyweight bout.

The 11-fight event kicked off at 8 p.m. ET with five, un-aired preliminary card bouts. The six-fight main card aired live on AXS TV on beginning at 10 p.m. ET

Josh Copeland def. Jan Jorgensen by knockout (punches). Round 1, 4:49 – for vacant heavyweight title
Jarred Mercado def. Daniel Swain by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Chris Heatherly def. Josh Cavan by submission (guillotine choke). Round 2, 3:20
Boston Salmon def. Zac Chavez by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 4:47
Marion Reneau def. Maureen Riordon by submission (armbar). Round 1, 4:15
Sid Bice def. Eric Shelton by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Danny Mainus def. Ian Connelly by submission (armbar). Round 1, 3:04
Darrell Flores def. Mitch Petersen by submission (keylock). Round 2, 1:35
Dante Florez def. Zach McChesney by unanimous decision (a)
Joe Guerrero def. Terry Van Hoosear by unanimous decision (a)
Jorge Dominguez def. Dalton Goddard by unanimous decision (a)

(a) – denotes amateur contest