On Friday, August 22, 2014, Titan FC held Titan FC 29: Ricci vs. Sotiropolous from the Crown Coliseum in Fayetteville, North Carolina.

This was the promotion’s second event under new ownership and second on their new broadcast partner CBS Sports Network. The main event featured two recognizable lightweights. Mike Ricci of The Ultimate Fighter fame squared off with Australian, George Sotiropolous. This was Ricci’s second fight with the promotion. In his debut Ricci scored a first round TKO over Jorge Gurgel. Upon his release from the UFC, Ricci vowed to finish every opponent until he returns to the octagon. This was Sotiropolous’ first fight since being released from the UFC nearly a year ago due to a four fight losing streak. Before that losing streak Sotiropolous had won his first six fights with the promotion and was on the verge of title contention.

In the night’s other featured bout two featherweights fought for the right to a featherweight title shot. UFC and Strikeforce veteran, Kurt Holobaugh tested his skills against Bellator veteran, Lloyd Woodard. Both men got back on the right track in their last bout after being on losing streaks. The winner of this bout will challenge the winner of Titan’s inaugural title fight between Gleristone Santos and an opponent to be determined.

The rest of the card featured recognizable names like Dustin Jacoby, Bristol Marunde, and Mike Bronzoulis. The main card aired on CBS Sports Network starting at 10 pm ET. Four preliminary bouts aired on CBSsportsnetwork.com starting at 8 pm ET and two untelevised bouts kicked off the action at 7 pm ET. Full Results are below.

Mike Ricci def. George Sotiropoulos by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Kurt Holobaugh def. Lloyd Woodard by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 0:15 -Featherweight Title Eliminator
Bristol Marunde def. Micah Miller by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27) 
Keith Johnson def. Mike Bronzoulis by submission (rear naked choke). Round 3, 3:31
Brian Davidson def. Kevin Smith by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Dustin Jacoby def. Lucas Lopes by TKO (head kick and punches). Round 1, 4:15
Robert Washington def. Blaine Thomas by TKO (doctor stoppage). Round 1, 1:20
Steve Montgomery def. Rakim Cleveland by split decision (29-28,28-29,29-28)
Luciano Santos def. Jeremy Severn by KO (knee). Round 3, 2:38
Mike Bruno vs. D’jaun Owens
Lamar Reed vs. Ururahy Rodrigues

About The Author

Dale De Souza
Staff Writer

Dale De Souza is a 22-year-old kid straight out of Texas, who grew up around Professional Wrestling but embraced the beauty of Mixed Martial Arts and Combat Sports at a young age. Dale is a Featured Columnist at Bleacher Report MMA, a writer at The MMA Corner.