On Saturday, September 6 Invicta FC held Invicta FC 8: Waterson vs. Tamada from the Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Missouri.

This event will mark the all female promotion’s first event on their new broadcast partner, UFC Fight Pass. In the night’s main event Michele Waterson put her atomweight title on the line against Japan’s Yasuko Tamada. With the recent merger of  much of Invicta’s strawweight  division into the UFC, “The Karate Hottie” has quickly become one of the promotion’s biggest names. Waterson is currently on a five fight win streak and won her championship last April with a fourth round submission victory over Jessica Penne. Although that victory came nearly eighteen months ago, but this will be Waterson’s first defense of her title. Tamada will also be coming off of a year-plus long layoff and will be making her Invicta FC debut. Tamada is currently riding a three fight winning streak with the Jewels promotion in Asia.

The atomweight title wasn’t the only one on the line Saturday. Invicta also crowned a new strawweight champion. Stephanie Eggink and Katja Kankaanpaa clashed for the vacant strap. Eggink and Kankaanpaa have only two losses combined between them. Eggink is already a champion in the Florida based XFC organization, but now seeks Invicta gold. Kankaanpaa’s only career loss came at the hands of Joanne Calderwood in her last Invicta bout, but has since rebounded with a submission victory back in May.

Eight more fights featuring the biggest names in women’s MMA will proceed the double main event. See a full list of the results below.

Official Results

Michelle Waterson def. Yasuko Tamada via TKO Round 3, 4:58  to retain atomweight title

Katja Kankaanpaa def. Stephanie Eggink via submission (d’arce choke) Round 5, 2:03 to win the vacant strawweight title

Tonya Evinger def. Ediane Gomes by submission (armbar) Round 1, 3:31

DeAnna Bennett def. Michelle Ould via TKO (body kick) Round 2, 1:34

Roxanne Modafferi def. Tara LaRosa by unanimous decision (30-27 x2, 29-28)

Irene Aldana def. Peggy Morgan by submission (rear-naked choke) Round 1, 2:50

Charmaine Tweet def. Veronica Rothenhausler by TKO (punches) Round 1, 4:05

Alexa Grasso def. Ashley Cummins by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Jodie Esquibel def. Jinh Yu Frey by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-27)

J.J. Aldrich def. Delaney Owen by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)