RFA 22: Njokuani vs. Smith features two top welterweights vying for the vacant RFA welterweight world championship, as Saekson Janjira product Chidi Njokuani battles The Ultimate Fighter 17 veteran Gilbert Smith. Both men come into this bout having won their most recent professional outings under the RFA banner.

In the co-main event, RFA featherweight prospect “Tricky” Mark Dickman returns to the RFA cage to face former King of The Cage 145-pound titleholder Donald Sanchez. Dickman comes off of a loss to former TUF 15 prospect Justin Lawrence. Meanwhile, Sanchez takes a relatively quick turnaround after defeating Charles Cheeks III at Legacy FC 36.

The event takes place Friday, Jan. 9 at the Broadmoor World Arena in Colorado Springs, CO. The entire main card will be televised live and nationwide on AXS TV at 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT.

Main Card Summary

Gilbert Smith vs. Chidi Njokuani

Gilbert Smith got off to a great start in the first round of his five-round battle with Chidi Njokuani, but Njokuani would start to bounce back in the second round, and never really stopped. In addition to showing off his cardio, Njokuani also used his reach in a unanimous-decision victory, which saw all three judges score the bout 49-46 in his favor. Unfortunately, Njokuani came in over the 170-pound limit and thus would not claim the vacant title with the win, and the question of whether or not Njokuani will get another chance to claim the belt will be left entirely in the hands of RFA head honcho Ed Soares.

Mark Dickman vs. Donald Sanchez

Mark Dickman returned to the RFA cage to combat Donald Sanchez, and as he unfortunately missed weight for this contest, he knew he needed to really turn heads in this particular outing. The Sergio Penha product intended to do so on the feet, but he would end up living up to his “Tricky” moniker and showing off some impressive Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu skills, submitting Sanchez with a kimura to return to the win column.

Ricky Musgrave vs. Alvin Robinson

After taking control of the first round, Alvin Robinson found himself threatening Ricky Musgrave at almost every turn. Musgrave, though, endured the storm and turned things around with a big knee and putting a kibosh on the fight with a flurry of ground and pound to force the stoppage.

Prentice Ingram vs. Josh Huber

Prentice Ingram had his work cut out for him when he went to battle with Josh Huber. Huber put on a dominant display, controlling the fight on the feet and on the ground as well. Huber’s efforts on the ground paid off when he found Ingram’s neck and secured only the second rear naked choke finish of the night.

Dominic Montoya vs. Yomi Heredia

Dominic Montoya and Yomi Heredia both came in unbeaten, and began their fight by setting a rapid tempo. Heredia and Montoya put on one of the grittiest ground battles in the early-going, with both men scrambling, and though Heredia’s cardio helped him out, especially in a moment where he almost scored a second-round finish, Montoya stayed in the fight. The judges felt Montoya’s efforts warranted the better end of the decision, but both men demonstrated excellent skills that will carry them to great lengths in the sport.

Kevin Gray vs. Joey Eisenbraun

The card kicked off with Kevin Gray against Joey Eisenbraun. From the onset, Gray intended to take this fight to the ground and he certainly did not hesitate in timing a wicked knee that landed on the body and dropped Eisenbraun. From there, the result became academic, as he locked up the guillotine choke for the victory.

Official Results
Chidi Njokuani def. Gilbert Smith (49-46, 49-46, 49-46)
Mark Dickman def. Donald Sanchez by submission (kimura). Round 1
Ricky Musgrave def. Alvin Robinson by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 3:55
Josh Huber def. Prentice Ingram by submission (rear naked choke). Round 2. 1:55
Dominic Montoya def. David Yomi Heredia by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Kevin Gray def. Joey Eisenbraun by submission (guillotine choke). Round 1, 3:49
Adam Martinez def. David Payne by submission (guillotine choke). Round 1, 3:36
James Nakashima def. Victor McCullough by unanimous decision (30,27, 30,27, 30-27)
Joe Guerrero def. Jamie Hernandez by unanimous decision
Sonny Yohn def. Malcomb Vrecenar by unanimous decision (29-28,29-28,29-28)
Cody Yohn def. Artem Marchuk by submission (rear naked choke) round 1, 2:48

About The Author

Dale De Souza
Staff Writer

Dale De Souza is a 22-year-old kid straight out of Texas, who grew up around Professional Wrestling but embraced the beauty of Mixed Martial Arts and Combat Sports at a young age. Dale is a Featured Columnist at Bleacher Report MMA, a writer at The MMA Corner.