Titan Fighting Championship returned to Kansas City, MO with another action packed lineup as part of Titan FC 34, live from the Scottish Rite Temple on Saturday, July 18. The event carried a grand total of four title fights on the bill, including defenses from Titan lightweight champion Pat Healy, Titan featherweight champion Kurt Holobaugh, and Titan bantamweght champion Brett Johns.

Originally scheduled to face Mike Ricci, the former Strikeforce and UFC veteran Healy came off of his victory over Kurt Kinser to defend his belt against Marcus Edwards. The ultra-competitive product of the FactoryX gym recently defeated Brazilian product Thiago Alves (not to be confused with the former UFC welterweight title contender of the same name), but was no stranger to the Titan cage, as he succeeded in preliminary action against Adam Nijem at Titan FC 33, the same event in which Healy claimed the lightweight gold from Kinser.

Featherweight kingpin Holobaugh took former champion Desmond Green to his limit and claimed the 145-pound title in the process, but the former Strikeforce and UFC veteran contended wth a gritty challenge in the form of undefeated Andre Harrison. Harrison’s undefeated streak included two dominant performances inside the Titan cage against Aaron Neveu and Cody Bollinger, which both ended in three-round sweeps for the prospect.

Johns earned a victory over Walel Watson to claim Titan’s bantamweight crown, and looked to defend his crown against TUF 18 alum Anthony Gutierrez. Gutierrez posted a loss to Watson, but the young bantamweight bounced back and scored a knockout win over Austin Lyons en route to his shot at the bantamweight title.

A flyweight title between Tim Elliott and Iliarde Santos served as the one title fight to have a vacant championship in the balance. Both flyweights dropped three straight in the UFC before getting released, though Santos rebounded with a victory over Nick Honstein at Titan FC 32. Elliott made his Titan debut in this title fight, which marked his first fight since his loss to Zach Makovsky at UFC Fight Night 60.

Main Card Summary

Tim Elliott saw an opportunity to rebound from the streak that led him out of the UFC, but he knew getting through Iliarde Santos would be easier said than done. In the early going, Elliott established himself as the dominant fighter, especially when he was able to rain on Santos with flurries of strikes at a time. The bell saved Santos, but for the remainder of the fight, Elliott turned the dominant effort into a spectacle of sorts, clearly having his share of fun while asserting himself as the man in control. With Santos unable to get himself into the fight, the outcome became a foregone conclusion, as Elliott took home a five-round sweep and Titan flyweight gold.

Unfortunately for Brett Johns, coming to his defense against Anthomy Gutierrez over the bantamweight limit cost him his belt on the scale, which meant that only Gutierrez was eligible to win the title. Johns implemented ground and pound to take me first round, but Gutierrez showed some cage savvy and executed a beautiful reversal the second frame, though it did little to clearly turn the bout in his favor. Gutierrez began to pick things up and showcase his ground acumen in the third round, though Johns stuck it out and fought hard through the fourth round. Johns demonstrated heart up until the fifth round, as he was literally fighting on one leg by the fifth, but his heart and his ability to keep his pace up earned him the better end of a decision win, as well as a title shot.

Kurt Holobaugh came hungry to retain his featherweight crown, but Andre Harrison had other plans. From the onset, Harrison looked to turn exchanges on the feet into opportunities for takedowns and control, but as time progressed, Holobaugh caught wind of this, and would find opportunities of his own to capitalize, but despite besting Harrison as far as landing the cleaner shots, the takedowns and wrestling paid off, as it netted the still-unbeaten Harrison the biggest win of his career, as he is now the new Titan featherweight kingpin.

For the first round of his fight with Pat Healy, Marcus Edwards threw everything but the kitchen sink at the champion with an intensity befitting of someone known as “Bad Intentions”. Still, when Edwards tried to grind out the grinder in the second round, Healy dropped Edwards and kept on him until the referee intervened, thus forcing the stoppage and keeping the Titan lightweight division on notice of the fact that “Bam Bam” still reigns supreme.

Full Results

Pat Healy def. Marcus Edwards by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 3:17  – for lightweight title
Andre Harrison def. Kurt Holobaugh by unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 48-47) – for featherweight title
Brett Johns def. Anthony Gutierrez by split decision (48-47, 47-48, 49-46) – for bantamweight title (Johns ineligible to win belt)
Tim Elliott def. Iliarde Santos by unanimous decision (50-45, 50-45, 50-45) – for vacant flyweight title
Zak Bucia def. Jose Landi-Jons by knockout (strikes). Round 2, 0:47
Freddy Assuncao def. Cody Bollinger by submission (arm triangle). Round 2, 2:51
Jason Witt def. Issac Vallie-Flagg by disqualification (illegal knee). Round 3, 1:54
Gerald Meerschart def. Lucas Rota by TKO (cut). Round 3, 0:50
Desmond Green def. Vincent Eazelle by knockout (punches). Round 1, 0:32
Andrew Whitney def. William Joplin by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Dakota Cochrane def. Mike Bruno by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 0:51
Cody Peterson def. Joseph Fulk by submission (armbar). Round 1, 4:21