On Saturday, April 22, 2016, new interim UFC Light-Heavyweight Champion Jon Jones (22-1) wasting no time after defeating Ovince Saint Preux (19-8) in a one-sided unanimous decision before he began to taunt the current UFC Light Heavyweight Champion and bitter rival, Daniel Cormier (17-1). While walking out of the Octagon, Jones paused and waited to get Cormier’s attention so he could give him the middle finger. Let the hype train begin.

In the co-main event, men’s flyweight kingpin Demetrious Johnson (24-2-1) successfully defended his trap and made quick work of Olympic gold medalist in freestyle wresting and No. 2 contender Henry Cejudo (10-1) with a first round stoppage.

Also featured on the card was former champion Anthony Pettis (18-5) who dropped a unanimous decision to the alwasy game Edson Barboza (17-4), and rising middleweight contender Robert Whittaker (16-4) domiated his way to a one-sided decision victory over Rafael Natal (21-7-1), and end his win-streak.



Light Heavyweight – Jon Jones defeats Ovince Saint Preux via unanimous decision (50-44, 50-45, 50-45) for the interim UFC Light-Heavyweight Championship
Flyweight – Demetrious Johnson (c) defeats Henry Cejudo via technical knockout (strikes) at 2:49 of Round 1 for the UFC Flyweight Championship
Lightweight – Edson Barboza defeats Anthony Pettis via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Middleweight – Robert Whittaker defeats Rafael Natal via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Featherweight – Yair Rodríguez defeats Andre Fili via knockout (flying head kick) 2:15 of Round 2


Flyweight  -Sergio Pettis defeats Chris Kelades via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Welterweight – Danny Roberts defeats Dominique Steele via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Women’s Strawweight – Carla Esparza defeats Juliana Lima via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Lightweight – James Vick defeats Glaico França via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)


Heavyweight – Walt Harris defeats Cody East via technical knockout (strikes) at 4:18 of Round 1
Light Heavyweight – Marcos Rogério de Lima defeats Clint Hester via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 4:35 of Round 1
Lightweight – Kevin Lee defeats Efrain Escudero via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

About The Author

Justin Fuller
Associate Editor/Senior Writer

Justin Fuller is a writer, broadcaster, and video personality. With a background in sports talk radio, he now runs his own podcast, "The Fuller Fight Factor LIVE." In addition to his media work, he is also an MC and ring announcer. You can find him in the greater Seattle-Tacoma area.