The 17th season of The Ultimate Fighter kicked off on Jan. 22, airing on its new night of Tuesday on FX. The latest installment of the UFC’s flagship reality show features light heavyweight champion Jon Jones coaching against former middleweight challenger Chael Sonnen. The pair will coach a cast of middleweights, each vying for a six-figure contract with the promotion.

In the first episode of the season, 28 fighters battled it out for 14 spots in the TUF house. Deviating from seasons past, the UFC allowed the fighters to bring family members to watch them in the elimination bouts.

The hotly-contested bout saw five fights end by submission, four by strikes and the remaining five went to the judges’ scorecards.

Like some of the past seasons, two wild card slots will open to fighters who lose during their time in the house.

Coach Sonnen won the coin flip and opted to take the first fighter, England’s Luke Barnatt. Jones responded with Clint Hester and the pair alternated until Australia’s Dylan Andrews was the final fighter selected by the champion.

For the first fight on next week’s episode, Coach Jones selected Gilbert Smith to meet Team Sonnen’s first pick Luke Barnatt.

Team Jones
Clint Hester
Josh Samman
Robert “Bubba” McDaniel
Gilbert Smith
Collin Hart
Adam Cella
Dylan Andrews
Team Sonnen
Luke Barnatt
Uriah Hall
Zak Cummings
Tor Troeng
Jimmy Quinlan
Kevin Casey
Kelvin Gastelum


Adam Cella def. Jake Heun by submission (armbar). Round 1
Zak Cummings def. Nik Fekete by TKO (punches). Round 1
Kevin Casey def. Eldon Sproat by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1
Tor Troeng def. Scott Rosa by submission (rear-naked choke).
Clint Hester def. Fraser Opie by unanimous decision.
Robert “Bubba” McDaniel def. Ryan Bigler by TKO (strikes). Round 2
Josh Samman def. Leo Bercier by TKO (strikes). Round 1
Kelvin Gastelum def. Kito Andrews by unanimous decision.
Jimmy Quinlan def. Mike Persons by TKO (strikes). Round 1
Uriah Hall def. Andy Enz by unanimous decision.
Gilbert Smith def. Eric Wahlin by submission (arm-triangle choke). Round 1
Luke Barnatt def. Nicholas Kohring by unanimous decision.
Dylan Andrews def. Timothy Williams by majority decision.
Collin Hart def. Mike Jasper by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1

Photo: The Ultimate Fighter 17 (Zuffa, LLC)