On Thursday, April 4, Bellator held its 95th event from Ovation Hall inside the Revel Atlantic City in Atlantic City, N.J.

The event was headlined by a featherweight title clash between current champion Pat Curran and season seven winner Shahbulat Shamhalaev. Curran entered the contest riding a five-fight winning streak that coincided with his drop to the 145-pound division. Meanwhile, the Russian Shamhalaev came in a perfect 3-0 under the Bellator banner, having not tasted defeat since 2009.

Also on the main card were the conclusion of the season eight featherweight and middleweight tournaments.

In the 145-pound final, yet another Russian, Magomedrasul “Frodo” Khasbulaev faced off with U.S. Marine Mike Richman The pair looked to claim the $100,000 prize, as well as a shot at the winner of the Curran-Shamhalaev main event.

The middleweight final pitted well-rounded Brett Cooper against hard-hitting veteran Doug Marshall. Like the featherweight finalists, each hoped to take home the large cash prize and a shot at Bellator middleweight kingpin Alexander Shlemenko.

Rounding out the main card was a welterweight collision between UFC veteran Karo Parisyan and Olympic judoka Rick Hawn.

The four-fight main card aired live on Spike TV beginning at 10 p.m. ET, while eight preliminary card fights streamed live on the promotion’s website starting at 7:15 p.m. ET.

For a full recap of the event, click here.

Video highlights of the event (courtesy of Bellator MMA) can be found below.

Pat Curran def. Shahbulat Shamhalaev by technical submission (guillotine choke). Round 1, 2:38  – for Bellator featherweight title
Magomedrasul “Frodo” Khasbulaev def. Mike Richman by unanimous decision (30-27 x3) – featherweight tournament final
Doug Marshall def. Brett Cooper  by KO (punch). Round 1, 3:39 – middleweight tournament final
Rick Hawn def. Karo Parisyan by KO (strikes). Round 2, 1:55
Lyman Good def. Dante Rivera by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Liam Oropeza def. Shedrick Goodridge by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 4:22
Tom DeBlass def. Carlos Brooks by TKO (doctor’s stoppage). Round 2, 5:00
Phillipe Nover def. Darrell Horcher by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Jimmie Rivera def. Brian Kelleher by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Will Martinez def. Michael Hess via knockout (strikes). Round 1, 4:15
Kevin Roddy def. Bryan Van Artsdalen by submission (armbar). Round 2, 1:04
Liam McGeary def. Anton Talamantes by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 1:18

Photo: Pat Curran submits Shahbulat Shamhalaev (Keith Mills/Sherdog)

About The Author

The MMA Corner Staff

Your home for all things MMA. News, Interviews, Event Coverage, Editorials. If it is MMA related, you will find it on The MMA Corner.