On Friday, May 24, Florida’s Championship Fighting Alliance hosted its 11th event from the BankUnited Center in Coral Gables, Fla.

The event marked the promotion’s first broadcast live on AXS TV.

In the main event, UFC veterans Mike Kyle and Travis Wiuff squared off for a second time. Kyle stopped Wiuff by TKO in 2010 at a King of the Cage event, but the bout was later changed to a no contest as the New Mexico commission ruled that Kyle’s strikes came after the bell. Since that fight, Kyle is 5-2 with one no contest, with his last four bouts coming under the Strikeforce banner. The well-traveled Wiuff is 9-4 since that bout, having most recently competed for Bellator in March.

Also on the card, the promotion held the semifinals of its women’s featherweight tournament. On one side of the bracket, undefeated Ashlee Evans-Smith was expected to battle Anna Barone, but Barone was pulled from the card on Thursday, allowing Evans-Smith to advance to the finals. Meanwhile, transgender fighter Fallon Fox took on Allanna Jones to determine who would face Evans-Smith later this year and crown a champion.

The main card also featured an interim featherweight title tilt between undefeated Sean Soriano and Elvin Leon Brito, Bellator veteran Alexis Vila faced Czar Sklavos at bantamweight, and Luis Palomino battled Robert Washington at lightweight.

The 13-fight card was split between a six-fight main card broadcast on AXS TV at 9 p.m. ET and an un-aired preliminary card.

Mike Kyle def. Travis Wiuff by knockout (punches). Round 1, 0:21
Fallon Fox def. Allanna Jones by submission (shin choke). Round 3, 3:36 – women’s featherweight tournament semifinal
Luis Palomino def. Robert Washington by knockout (punch). Round 1, 3:26
Sean Soriano def. Elvin Leon Brito by unanimous decision (50-45 x3) – for interim featherweight title
Alexis Vila def. Czar Sklavos by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Ed Gordon def. Oscar Delgado by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 1:32
Ailton Barbosa def. Frank Carrillo by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 4:45
Yosdenis Cedeno def. Trent McCown by unanimous decision
Valdir Araujo def. Alik Tseiko by knockout (flying knee). Round 3, 3:47
Charles Rosa def. Aaron Steadman by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 3:26
Jose Caceres def. Kamaru Marty Usman by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 3:47
Gleidson Dejesus def. Yvon Agneord by split decision
Rico Farrington def. Jake Gombocz by unanimous decision

Photo: Mike Kyle (Jerry Chavez/The MMA Corner)

About The Author

The MMA Corner Staff

Your home for all things MMA. News, Interviews, Event Coverage, Editorials. If it is MMA related, you will find it on The MMA Corner.