On Friday, June 21, Resurrection Fighting Alliance held its eighth event from The Rave/Eagles Club in Milwaukee.

The fight card was headlined by two title fights. In the main event, undefeated Sergio Pettis—the younger brother of UFC title contender Anthony Pettis—battled Dillard “Joe” Pegg for the promotion’s 125-pound, flyweight belt. Pettis was originally expected to take on UFC veteran Jeff Curran, but Curran withdrew from the contest just two weeks before the event.

In the co-main event, current featherweight title holder, Jared Downing, put his 145-pound strap on the line against undefeated Team Alpha Male product and four-time NCAA wrestling All-American, Lance Palmer. Downing earned the belt earlier in 2013 with a one-sided decision win over TUF alum Jordan Rinaldi. Palmer picked up a decision win over WEC veteran Fredson Paixao at RFA 4 in November of last year in his promotional debut.

Also on the card, RFA 7 last-minute headliner and Milwaukee-based fighter Mike “Biggie” Rhodes hoped to bounce back from the first loss of his career when he faced off with Benjamin Smith.

The night’s six-fight main card was broadcast on AXS TV beginning at 10 p.m. ET. Two additional professional contests graced the preliminary card, while 12 more amateur bouts kicked off the night’s action.

Sergio Pettis def. Joe Pegg by knockout (punches). Round 1, 0:51 – inaugural flyweight champion
Lance Palmer def. Jared Downing by split decision (48-46, 46-48, 48-46) – new featherweight champion
Pedro Munhoz def. Mitch Jackson by submission (guillotine choke). Round 1, 4:49
Mike “Biggie” Rhodes def. Benjamin Smith by knockout (punches). Round 1, 0:56
Dan Moret def. Jose Pacheco by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Zak Ottow def. Matt Gauthier by submission (arm-triangle choke). Round 1, 3:07
Brian Householder def. Kevin Morris by knockout (knee). Round 1, 0:10
Derrick Mandell def. David Rhoads by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Damien Childress def. Craig Eckelberg by unanimous decision (a)
Heather Bassett def. Moriel Charneski by unanimous decision (30-27 x3) (a)
R’Mandel Cameron def. Michael Mack by unanimous decision (a)
Kylie Mergner def. Sarah Jacobsen by unanimous decision (a)
Jonas Flok def. Nate Jennerman by unanimous decision (29-28 x3) (a)
Derek Flok def. LarryWatson by submission (guillotine choke). Round 1, 1:15 (a)
Alex Gilpin def. Jesse Frewerd by submission (arm-triangle choke). Round 2, 1:08 (a)
Christian Vazquez def. Brandon Mason by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 2:26 (a)
Kevin Vazquez def. Duarn Vue by unanimous decision (a)
Ode Osbourne def. Jesse Fisher by unanimous decision (a)
Luis Ascencio def. Austin Gonzalez by unanimous decision (a)
Isaac DiBodenlos def. Nicholas Gonzales by unanimous decision (a)

Photo: Sergio Pettis (Paul Fladten/Sherdog)