On Saturday, June 21, GLORY hosted its 17th event from the Forum in Los Angeles. The event was immediately followed by the promotion’s inaugural pay-per-view, Last Man Standing. For full results of the pay-per-view event, click here.

In the GLORY 17 main event, heavyweight legend Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic re-matched American Jarrel Miller. The Croatian Filipovic returned to kickboxing in 2012 after nearly a decade away from the ring. As a former Pride FC open weight champion and UFC combatant, the 39-year-old is infamous for his success in MMA. He defeated Miller in March of 2013, but fell short in his GLORY debut against Remy Bonjasky. Miller, meanwhile, had been out of action since his loss to Cro Cop. The 25-year-old was eager to erase the lone loss on his record.

The co-main event of the evening featured a lightweight contest between Suriname’s Andy Ristie and American Ky Hollenbeck. Ristie shocked the kickboxing world in 2013 with upset wins over Giorgio Petrosyan and Robin van Roosmalen, but succumbed to a knockout against Davit Kiria in his last outing. Hollenbeck had compiled a record of 3-1 in the GLORY ring, with his lone loss coming against the aforementioned Petrosyan.

The event also featured a four-man featherweight contender tournament featuring Shane Oblonsky vs. Marcus Vinicius and Gabriel Varga vs. Yodkhunpon Sitmonchai.

The event began at 6:35 p.m. ET with a five-fight, un-televised preliminary card. The Spike TV-broadcast main card kicked off at 8 p.m. ET.

Main Card

In the main event of the Spike broadcast, combat sports legend Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic picked up a second decision win over Jarrel Miller. Miller tried to initiate the clinch throughout the fight to avoid Cro Cop’s famous kicking arsenal. While Miller succeeded in round one, Cro Cop opened up in the final two rounds. A thundering body shot in round two echoed throughout the arena, but Miller seemed unfazed. A pair of well-timed head kicks found their mark in the final frame, but Miller’s chin held true. However, it was Cro Cop who took the win.

The first half of the featherweight tournament saw Canadian Gabriel Varga outclass Thai veteran Yodkhunpon Sitmonchai and earn a lopsided unanimous decision. The pair fought in a phone booth in the opening stanza, with Varga scoring with clean shots late in the round. His aggression paid off as Sitmonchai’s pace slowed heavily in rounds two and three, allowing Varga to cruise to the finals.

In the second half of the tournament, Shane Oblonsky and Marcus Vinicius put on a show for the fans. Oblonsky scored a knockdown in round one to stifle the Brazilian’s aggression. However, Vinicius poured it on in round two, clipping Oblonsky repeatedly with left hooks. It looked as if the Brazilian would steal the fight in round three, but Oblonsky again scored a knockdown in the final minute of the bout, sealing the decision win.

The featherweight tournament final saw Varga use his crisp combinations and a variety of flashy strikes to edge Oblonsky and claim the tournament title. Varga threw multiple flying knees and landed a slick spinning back fist in the middle stanza to keep Oblonsky guessing. Oblonsky scored repeatedly with his hands, but he was unable to match Varga’s pace for the entire three rounds. When it was all said and done, it was Varga who walked away with the nod on the scorecards.

Lightweight Andy Ristie wasted little time reminding fight fans why he’s one of the best in the world, waxing American Ky Hollenbeck in less than a minute. Ristie clipped Hollenbeck with a straight right and followed with a pair of left hooks that sent Hollenbeck crashing to the canvas.


In the Last Man Standing reserve bout, middleweight Mike Lemaire earned a questionable decision win over UFC veteran Dustin Jacoby. Lemaire scored early with his kicks, but once Jacoby found his range, he peppered Lemaire with punches. Jacoby nearly scored a finish in round two with a big flurry that saw Lemaire retreating against the ropes. Lemaire fought hard in the third round and did enough to convince the judges to score the fight in his favor.

Ron Cruz claimed the  IAMTF Super Middleweight U.S. title with a hard-fought decision win over Sonny Singh. Cruz opened well with his hands, but Singh countered with kicks. After splitting the opening rounds, Cruz dropped Singh in round three with a beautiful left hook. Singh went for broke in the final frame, but Cruz’s knockdown proved to be the difference on the scorecards.

Brian Bruns weathered an early storm from opponent Joe Davis, scoring two knockdowns in the first round and finishing off Davis in round two with a third knockdown.

Middleweight Spencer Mix earned the IAMTF Super Middleweight California title with dominant performance against Jules Wallace. Mix used his kicks and elbows well throughout the four-round affair to slow Wallace’s forward advance. Wallace managed to open Mix up in the third round, but it wasn’t enough as Mix took the unanimous decision win.

In the first bout of the evening, Jay Alvarez used a big second round to turn the tide and take home a unanimous decision win over Chris Henry. Henry scored early with combinations, but it was the powerful right hand of Alvarez that helped him to earn the second and third rounds on the scorecards.

Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic def. Jarrel Miller by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Gabriel Varga def. Shane Oblonsky by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28) – featherweight tournament final
Andy Ristie def. Ky Hollenbeck by knockout (left hook). Round 1, 0:35
Shane Oblonsky def. Marcus Vinicius by unanimous decision (29-26 x3) – featherweight tournament semifinal
Gabriel Varga def. Yodkhunpon Sitmonchai by unanimous decision (30-27 x3) – featherweight tournament semifinal
Mike Lemaire def. Dustin Jacoby by unanimous decision (29-28 x3) – Last Man Standing middleweight tournament reserve bout
Ron Cruz def. Sonny Singh by unanimous decision (38-37, 38-37, 39-36) – for IAMTF Super Middleweight U.S. Title
Brian Bruns def. Joe Davis by TKO (three-knockdown rule). Round 2, 1:10
Spencer Mix def. Jules Wallace by unanimous decision (40-36, 39-37, 40-36) – for IAMTF Super Middleweight California Title
Jay Alvarez def. Chris Henry by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)