On Saturday, June 28, the UFC made its first trip to New Zealand for UFC Fight Night 43: Te Huna vs. Marquardt which took place from the Vector Arena in Auckland.

In the night’s main event, New Zealand native James Te Huna made his middleweight debut against former Strikeforce title holder and UFC title challenger Nate Marquardt. Te Huna went 5-3 competing in the light heavyweight division, with losses against top-10 fighters Alexander Gustafsson, Glover Teixeira and Mauricio “Shogun” Rua. The 32-year-old was knocked out by Rua in December. Marquardt, meanwhile, returned to the 185-pound division for the first time since 2011. The 35-year-old captured Strikeforce gold against Tyron Woodley, but was outclassed by Tarec Saffiedine in his first title defense. Since his UFC return, he was knocked out by Jake Ellenberger and Hector Lombard.

The night’s co-main event pitted heavy-handed Australian Soa Palelei against wrestling stalwart Jared Rosholt in a heavyweight affair. Palelei had gone a perfect 3-0 since his promotional return in the summer of 2013. The 36-year-old rode an 11-fight winning streak into the Octagon. Rosholt also rode a lengthy winning streak into the contest, having reeled off six straight, including two in the UFC. Each looked to crack the top-15 rankings with a win.

The 10-fight event kicked off Saturday at 2:30 a.m. ET with a six-fight preliminary card streaming live on the promotion’s digital network, UFC Fight Pass. The four-fight main card followed at 5 a.m. ET, also on UFC Fight Pass.

Nate Marquardt def. James Te Huna by submission (armbar). Round 1, 4:34
Jared Rosholt def. Soa Palelei by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Charles Oliveira def. Hatsu Hioki by submission (guillotine choke). Round 2, 4:32
Robert Whittaker def. Mike Rhodes by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Jake Matthews def. Dashon Johnson by submission (triangle choke). Round 3, 3:16
Richie Vaculik def. Roldan Sangcha-an by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Vik Grujic def. Chris Indich by TKO (punches). Round 1, 4:55
Neil Magny def. Rodrigo Goiana de Lima by TKO (punches). Round 2, 2:32
Daniel Hooker def. Ian Entwistle by TKO (elbows). Round 1, 3:34
Gian Villante def. Sean O’Connell by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

About The Author

Staff Writer, Australia

Located in Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Neil Rooke has been writing about the sport of MMA since 2011. In the past, Neil has written for Cage Junkies and has written for Fight! Magazine as well as Fist! Fight Magazine. Neil is also a regular contributor to Fight! Magazine Australia and Yahoo! Sports Singapore.