On Saturday, April 11, the UFC heads to Krakow, Poland for the first time with a rematch between Gabriel Gonzaga and Mirko ‘Cro Cop’ Filipović live from the Kraków Arena.

Gonzaga (16-9, 11-8 UFC) famously walked away with an upset Knock of the Year victory in their previous meeting using Cro Cop’s own signature head kick. He enters this bout looking to get back on track after dropping a decision to Stipe Miocic and a knockout to Matt Mitrione.

Cro Cop (30-11-2, 4-6 UFC), the K-1 World Grand Prix 2012 Final Champion and 2006 Pride World Grand Prix Open-Weight Champion, will be making his first appearance inside the Octagon since suffering a third round TKO loss to Roy Nelson in 2011. Since then, the MMA legend has amassed a 3-1 record outside of the UFC, including a headkick knockout over Satoshi Ishii this past December.

All this plus a light heavyweight contest between Jan Blachowicz and Jimi Manuwa, a 170 lbs bout between Pawel Pawlak and Sheldon Westcott and a women’s strawweight fight between TUF 20 veteran Joanne Calderweood and Maryna Moroz will be on the roster for the nights main event.

The entire recap from the card along with the results from the prelims can be found below.

Main Card Summary

The main event started off the way many thought the first fight between Gabriel Gonzaga and Mirko Cro Cop would play out, both men showing patience and wanting the fight to go where they are strongest, on the feet for Cro Cop and to the mat for Gonzaga. There was little action during the exchanges in the first two rounds, but Gonzaga did score takedowns in each. It was clear Cro Cop was picking his shots and waiting for an opening, and during the clinch in the third round he did just that by landing a big elbow followed up by another sending Gonzaga to the mat where Cro Cop followed him and delivered several more big elbows from inside Gonzaga’s guard before the referee stepped in to stop the contest.

A bout that many thought would end early, the co-main event between heavy hitting Jimi Manuwa and the diverse and talented Jan Blachowicz came down to who could land the most shots before the two fighters clinched. Once again the referee was quick to break the fighters apart, so neither did much damage in the clinch or worked for a takedown, but to be fair it is very possible the fighters knew how the referee would react to the clinch and did not wish to waste time or energy when they would be rest momentarily anyway. While Blanchowicz landed was a headkick that Manuwa quickly shrugged off, it was all Manuwa pushing the pace when there was action in the fight. Overall a close bout, but Manuwa did enough to score the unanimous decision.

The welterweight battle between two young fighters looking to breakout, Pawel Pawlak and Sheldon Westcott, came down to position and execution. The Canadian, Westcott, kept trying to take the fight to the mat but was unable to get the takedown on the local favorite. Pawlak was the stronger fighter, better wrestler, and despite what the referee was saying, was active in landing strikes and improving his position on the ground and against the cage, which lead to him grinding out a unanimous decision victory.

In the main event opener No. 6 ranked strawweight Joanne Calderwood welcomed UFC newcomer Maryna Moroz to the octagon. Calderwood tried to set the pace with outside leg kicks and a stiff jab, but she was no match for the crisp boxing and power of Moroz who landed a solid right hand sending Calderwood against the cage before the two fighters clinched. Moroz secured her hooks, pulled guard, and was able to finish the Scotland native early in the fight via armbar.


Main Card – UFC Fight Pass

Mirko Filipovic def. Gabriel Gonzaga via TKO (strikes) 3:30 of Round 3.
Jimi Manuwa def. Jan Blachowicz by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28).
Pawel Pawlak def. Sheldon Westcott by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28).
Maryna Moroz def. Joanne Calderwood via submission (armbar) at  1:30 of Round 1.

Prelim Card – UFC Fight Pass

Leon Edwards def. Seth Baczynski via knockout at 0:08 of Round 1.
Bartosz Fabinski def. Garreth McLellan by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27).
Sergio Moraes def. Mickael Lebout by unanmimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28).
Yaotzin Meza def. Damian Stasiak by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28).
Anthony Hamilton def. Daniel Omielanczuk by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28).
Aleksandra Albu def. Izabela Badurek via submission (guillotine choke) at 3:34 of Round 2.
Stevie Ray def. Marcin Bandel via TKO (punches) at 1:35 of Round 2.
Taylor Lapilus def. Rocky Lee by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27).