Resurrection Fighting Alliance pulled things together earlier this week to keep a lightweight title bout on the RFA 35 card Friday night.

Thiago Moises took advantage of the opportunity presented to him, scoring a second round submission victory over David Castillo in the main event to become the new RFA 155-pound champion.

Originally, it was suppose to be Zach Jussola taking on Castillo for the vacant crown. An injury, though, moved Moises into the title fight from his planned co-main event role.

Following a first round that saw Castillo almost put Moises away, the Brazilian stormed out and locked up an armbar three minutes into the second to improve to 7-1 in his career. Castillo fell to 19-8 with the loss.

Despite taking the contest on just three days notice, Thiago Alves – not current UFC fighter Thiago Alves – came through with a decision victory over David Putvin. Alves’ “extended” name is Thiago Alves Cavalcante Rodrigues for those scoring at home.

After battling for nearly 10 minutes, Curtis Blaydes put Luis Cortez away less than a minute into the third round, connecting with a series of double hammer-fists to get the win. Blaydes a heavyweight, moved his record to 5-0 with all five victories coming by finish.

Dervin Lopez scored the first finish of the evening, knocking out Joe Rodriguez in the first round. Lopez improved to 8-3 with the win, which was his eighth via stoppage.

Ricky Steele and James Nakashima got the night off with back-to-back decision victories. Steele downed LJ Schultz, while Nakashima handed Brad Darrington his first loss.

Jordan Clements, Fernando Sanchez, Johann Rubio, Cezly Collard and McKinley Smith earned wins earlier in the night.

The event took place from the UCCU Center in Orem, Utah. The main card aired live on AXS TV.

Complete results can be found below:


Thiago Moises def. David Castillo via submission (armbar) at 3:19 of Round 2 to become the new RFA lightweight champion

Thiago Alves def. David Putvin via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Curtis Blaydes def. Luis Cortez via TKO (strikes) at :41 of Round 3

Dervin Lopez def. Joe Rodriguez via KO (strikes) at 3:46 of Round 1

James Nakashima def. Brad Darrington via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Ricky Steele def. L.J. Schultz via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)