The search for the next UFC title contender will unfold on season 24 of The Ultimate Fighter as 16 flyweight competitors will compete for a shot at the 125-pound world championship.

The winner of the tournament will then go on to face the reigning UFC flyweight champion at The Ultimate Fighter Finale in December.

Coaches and former opponents of the current champion will be brought in throughout the season to help break down film and train with contestants ahead their next fight. The two finalists will then compete in the final episode of the season. The winner will face the flyweight champion at the live TUF 24 Finale just days after the season finishes airing.

THis will make just the third time time a TUF tournament has chosen a number one contender The two previous featured Matt Serra TUF 4 before dethrone Georges St-Pierre for the welterweight title in 2007. Carla Esparza also won the inaugural UFC strawweight belt after winning the TUF 20 tournament in 2014

Tryouts are scheduled for Monday, April 25 in Las Vegas at Palace Station and are open to all competitors aged 21-34 with at least three professional fights and a winning record. The next season of The Ultimate Fighter will begin filming in June and will premiere on FS1 on Wednesday, August 31.

Reigning flyweight champion Demetrious Johnson is currently slated to face Henry Cejudo at UFC 197 on April 23 at UFC 197. To date, Johnson is the first and only man to hold the 125-pound title.

About The Author

News Manager

José began his career as a mixed martial arts journalist while still enrolled at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Arizona State University. Since graduating in May 2013, he has attended dozens of high profile UFC fight cards as a credentialed member of the media, providing live cage side coverage through his articles and videos. His work has appeared on, and AZCentral. He is also currently one of the main contributors on Power MMA Show at Arizona Sports 98.7 FM, one of the first all MMA radio shows on a major radio station.